Contact Us    Phone / 06 758 4685   |   Email /



The Trustees of Te Kotahitanga o Te Atiawa Trust are pleased to announce the appointment of the inaugural directors to its newly formed commercial subsidiary, Te Atiawa Iwi Holdings Limited Partnership.

Mark Tume (Chair), Mike Pohio and Adrian Taylor have been appointed as independent directors to the commercial subsidiary, and will be joined by Liana Poutu and Kim Skelton as trustee representatives to complete the board of directors.

Upon enactment of Te Atiawa’s settlement legislation, Te Atiawa will be responsible for the management of commercial assets with an approximate value of $100m.   “Given the scale of the iwi’s commercial assets it was crucial to appoint an experienced and high calibre board who have the capability to turn our aspirations for commercial development into reality over the next 10 years and beyond”, said Trust Transition Manager Hemi Sundgren.

Mark Tume is an extremely experienced and respected professional director and is currently chair of Infratil, a director on NZ refining, NZ Oil & Gas and until recently, a guardian of the NZ Superfund.  Mark has strong direct experience in the investment, finance, infrastructure and energy sectors.  He also has experience working in the iwi sector and has whakapapa connections to North Taranaki Iwi, Ngāti Maru and Ngāti Tūwharetoa.

Mike Pohio was, until recently, the long serving CEO of Tainui Group Holdings who was instrumental in building its investments to more than $875million.  Mike’s experience in large iwi investment companies (property, seafood, financial and private equity) is extensive.  Mike is now a professional director with current directorships on Panuku Development Auckland, Kiwirail and NIWA. Mike is also Chairman of BNZ Partners Waikato Region.  Mike has whakapapa connections to Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Mamoe, Waitaha, Ngāti Pikiao and Ngāti Kahungunu.
Adrian Taylor is a well-respected partner in a local Taranaki accounting firm and brings a deep understanding of the local commercial environment. Adrian is also a former Director and Chair on Te Atiawa Fisheries Company and is involved in a range iwi activity.

Kim Skelton is a trustee on Te Kotahitanga and Deputy Chair of Te Atiawa Fisheries Trust.  Kim has an in-depth knowledge of the Treaty settlements sector as a Management Consultant based in Wellington.  She is also a member of the Greater Wellington Regional Council Finance and Risk Committee and represents Te Tai Hauāuru on the Iwi Working Group for Te Ohu Kaimoana Funding Model.

Liana Poutu is the Chair of Te Kotahitanga and has a strong legal practice background in Māori Land, Treaty of Waitangi and Corporate Governance.  She is also a Director on Tui Ora Ltd, a Trustee on Te Reo o Taranaki Charitable Trust and a member of the Taranaki-Whanganui Conservation Board.  Liana is extensively involved in a range of iwi activities across the Taranaki region.

Te Atiawa Iwi Holdings Limited Partnership will hold its first board meeting at the end of July to set in place its long-term strategies for growing the intergenerational prosperity of Te Atiawa.

Related Posts