Contact Us    Phone / 06 758 4685   |   Email /

Joint Statement from the Taranaki Iwi Chairs and Taranaki Mayoral forum

The Taranaki Iwi Chairs’ Forum and Taranaki Mayoral Forum are collaborating on a Taranaki-wide response to the heightened risk of Covid-19 entering the region.

If the North Island moves to Level 3 restrictions, our collective view is that we must create a Taranaki bubble to protect our people and our economy.
We also encourage anyone living in Taranaki who has either visited Auckland recently or had contact with a visitor from Auckland to get tested without delay. We would like the Ministry of Health to ensure Taranaki has adequate supplies of tests and personal protective equipment to safely cater for demand.

If we enter Level 3, we will be seeking Government resources to deliver checkpoints via the NZ Defence Force and/or NZ Police and believe this will greatly enhance the protection of our people and economy from the spread of Covid-19 across Aotearoa/New Zealand.

We urge all people from Taranaki to download the Government’s COVID-19 Tracer App if they have a suitable phone (or to maintain a manual record of movements), to display the tracing QR codes in their businesses, to follow good hygiene and physical distancing practices as well as following all other relevant Covid-19 Alert Level protocols.

The Taranaki Iwi Chairs’ Forum and Mayoral Forum is focused on protecting the wellbeing of all our people through these uncertain times and ensuring Taranaki is the safest region in Aotearoa/New Zealand. We are committed to working together as we face these challenges to our region and nation, in partnership with Government.

On behalf of:
Taranaki Iwi Chairs’ Forum:
Paul Silich, Ngāti Tama
Jamie Tuuta, Ngāti Mutunga
Liana Poutu, Te Atiawa
Holden Hohaia, Ngāti Maru
Leanne Horo, Taranaki
Bev Gibson, Ngāruahine
Debbie Ngarewa-Packer, Ngāti Ruanui
Mike Neho, Ngaa Rauru

Taranaki Mayoral Forum:
Neil Holdom – New Plymouth District Mayor
Neil Volzke – Stratford District Mayor
Phil Nixon – South Taranaki District Mayor
David MacLeod – Taranaki Regional Council Chair

Related Posts